top of page

My PCOS Story

When did I find out about PCOS? Why did I think I had it? How did I get diagnosed?




In this post I am going to share the basics of how I found out about PCOS, why I thought I might have it and how I got diagnosed.

I don't go fully in to depth but make sure to keep an eye out for more posts which go further into the condition.




How it started...


Periods...where did mine go?


From when I got my first period they have always been very regular, always on time, usually on the heavier side and lasted around a week.

As every other women out there does, I dreaded that time of month until that time never came. At first I took multiple pregnancy tests which all came back negative so that was ruled out and I just ended up ignoring it and enjoying life without the dreaded week.


2 months later it came back like normal and then 4 weeks after that, again...no period.


Pregnancy tests = negative = ignore and so on.


After about 4 months I started worrying...if I am not having periods then does that mean I am not ovulating?



I am a beauty therapist and talk very openly with lots of my clients, one announced to me that she was pregnant and how it had taken her over 10 years due to PCOS. I asked for more information on the condition and every symptom I quickly realised I had...


I called my doctor the next day and stated how I thought this is what I had, they started asking if I suffer from any of the following symptoms:


Acne = yes

Weight gain = yes

Excessive hair growth = yes

Oily skin = yes


They then booked me in for a blood test and an internal scan which both confirmed I had PCOS.


I went for a check up with my GP for them to explain the condition along with ways that can help...I am not sure if I just blanked out half of what she said (though after hearing others stories I don't think that's the case) but all I was told was "You may struggle with fertility and we can offer medication to help with that, if you want to try let us know as soon as possible. You need to loose weight and in the meantime here is a pill for you to take"


I then blamed myself for the condition assuming it was because of my weight. I presumed I could never have children and that my life dreams were ending. I was sure she told me the pill wasn't a contraceptive and that it was only to help remove the lining of my uterus, but after googling I found out it was in fact a contraceptive.


(DISCLAIMER - THE CONDITION ISN'T ANYONE FAULT AND IT DOESN'T MEAN YOU ARE INFERTILE)


I have now learnt that weight loss isn't the only problem nor is it the only thing that will help. Though I am on a journey to try and loose 4st (you can follow my Instagram account @daniis_pcos_journey to come on the journey with me) as I know for me personally it will help with my mental and physical health.



 

Do you have PCOS? Let me know why and how you got diagnosed.

Do you think you have PCOS? Feel free to talk to me for some friendly advice and support.



Comentarios


bottom of page